Skip NavigationMarch 5-9, 2008 - John Carroll Weekend - MADRID

Error processing SSI file

2008 Award Winners

Each John Carroll Weekend culminates with a banquet celebrating the John Carroll and Patrick Healy Award winners and their distinguished service to Georgetown, their communities, and their lifetime achievement, intercultural understanding, and dedication to advancing Georgetown's mission of distinguished service and leadership.

The John Carroll Award

The John Carroll Award was established by the Georgetown University Alumni Association in 1951 to honor alumni whose achievements exemplify the ideals and traditions of Georgetown University and its founder, Archbishop John Carroll. The John Carroll Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Association. All recipients have distinguished themselves through lifetime achievement and outstanding service to their alma mater. Five John Carroll Awards are presented each year.

2008 John Carroll Award Recipients

The Patrick Healy Award

The Patrick Healy Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Association upon distinguished individuals who are not alumni. Established in 1969 and named for Rev. Patrick Healy, S.J., the first black president of a major American university and Georgetown’s "second founder," the Patrick Healy Award symbolizes the deep admiration that the university holds for these unique individuals and special friends of Georgetown. The Alumni Association presents one Patrick Healy Award each year.

2008 Patrick Healy Award Recipient

Nomination Process

There are four criteria for selection: lifetime achievement, dedication to the principles of Georgetown, volunteer service to Georgetown, and community and public service. A nomination form is sent to all alumni. Approximately one month after the nomination deadline, a selection committee of the Board of Governors meets to choose the recipients.

Barbara Felser Crocker (I’75) Gulf Stream, Florida

Barbara Crocker is a Georgetown Scholarship Program class chair and Alumni Admissions Program Chair for South Florida. After a career in real estate finance, she became an active volunteer advocate for children and education. As such, she has been a member of the AAP Board of Advisors, SLL Board of Advisors, College Board of Advisors, and the university’s Board of Regents, and co-chaired the 2000 John Carroll Awards Weekend in Boca Raton. She and her husband, Tom, made a leadership gift to name a recreation room in the Southwest Quadrangle, and have been leading donors to the Georgetown Scholarship Program. They are the parents of three current Hoyas, Sarah (C’08), Sam (C’09), and Simon (C’11).

top of page

N. Lynn Hiestand (F’75, L’80) London, England

Lynn Hiestand practices corporate transactional law as a partner at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, and, since 2004, has coordinated Skadden’s corporate restructuring practice in Europe from the London office. She is a member of the Board of Regents, and her extensive involvement with the Law Center has included membership on its Board of Visitors and Leadership Council. An active supporter of public interest work, she established the Christian Hiestand McClellan Summer Fellowship Fund, named after her son, to fund second year law students working in the public interest.

top of page

William L. Licamele, M.D. (C’68, M’72, R’74, W’76) McLean, Virginia

Bill "Lic" Licamele runs a private child and adolescent psychiatry practice and has spent much of his career on the psychiatry faculty at Georgetown University Medical Center, formerly directing the Child & Adolescent Psychiatry division and running a Tourette Syndrome clinic. He has served on many class committees for Medical and College reunions and been a member of the Medical Alumni Board, the university’s Board of Governors, and the Hoyas Unlimited Board of Directors. His numerous leadership positions with the Hoya Hoop Club reflect his great enthusiasm for Georgetown basketball. He and his wife, Annamarie, are the parents of Mary Ann (B’01, G’08), Louis (C’04), and Will (C’07).

top of page

Philip A. Marineau (C’68) San Francisco, California

Phil Marineau is the recently retired president and CEO of Levi Strauss & Co., esteemed for his consumer marketing success both at Levi and, formerly, as president and COO of Quaker Oats Co., president and COO of Dean Foods Co., and president and CEO of Pepsi-Cola North America. His marketing expertise was instrumental in developing communications for Georgetown’s $1 billion Third Century Campaign. He has been a member of Georgetown University’s Board of Directors and Board of Regents, and currently serves on the McDonough School of Business Board of Advisors. He and his wife, Sue, named Marineau Foyer in the Southwest Quadrangle through their leadership gift. They have two children, Phil III (B’98) and Anne.

top of page

Shéhérazade Semsar-de Boisséson (F’90, G’90) Paris, France

Shéhérazade Semsar-de Boisséson is managing partner of Development Institute International, one of the largest French conference and training producers. As an Alumni Admissions Program interviewer, chair of the 2002 John Carroll Awards Weekend in Paris, and former president of the Georgetown Club of France, she has been a leader of the Georgetown community abroad. She is also a member of the university’s Board of Governors, and has enabled tuition and stipend support for graduate students through the MSFS fellowship she established. She and her husband, Laurent, have three children, Inès, Louise, and Cyrrus.

top of page

Peter C. Cooper Newport Beach, California

Peter Cooper is founder, owner and executive chairman of Cooper Group Holdings, a California-based investment organization. As a member of the university’s Board of Directors, and as former chairman of the investment subcommittee, he has overseen the growth of Georgetown’s endowment. He has demonstrated his commitment to Georgetown Athletics through his influential role in developing the Multi-Sport Facility and supporting his children on the football and swim teams. He and his wife, Sue, have five children, Kylie (C’02, L’06), Ryan (B’02), Matthew (B’07), Kris (B’08), and Adam.

top of page

Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file